Events

Event Calendar

<<Jul 2017>>
SMTWTFS
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

Recent Posts

Archives

Links

Social Games

Sponsors

Meta

808 Rules

Net score” refers to a golfer’s score after handicap strokes have been deducted. Put more technically, the net score is a player’s gross score minus his or her course handicap allows to be deducted during the course of the round. To make the game fair, a player should keep his handicap accurate. This requires that he inputs every score he has into our system.

Club 808 tournament rule:
1) One player can only have no more than 14 clubs in the golf bag on the course, otherwise he/she will be disqualified. Even if the game is already finished. In a scrable or team competition, the whole team will be disqualified of any awards.
2) electric devices are allowed, the device must measure distance only; it must not measure other conditions such as wind speed or direction, the slope of the ground, or the temperature. For phone apps with GPS, it is allowed in our competition
3) If there are multiple close to pin won by the same person, he/she can only win the first one of them. Other KP will be won by the second person. If only one people qualify the KP after this person, then that person will be awarded. A player can win both the close to pin and longest drive.

Club 808 “Low Net” awards rule:
1.He/she must be a club808 paid member of current year to qualify.
2.He/she must have an official handicap in club808. To establish a club808 handicap, he/she must have at least input 5 rounds of golf scores into our system before the tournament.
3.Standard handicap from USGA or it’s authorized organizations like GHIN.com is accepted and considered equivalent to club808 handicap.
4.If the handicap is kept in club808, he/she must post at least 1 round of score in the month prior to the competition(monthly tournament is excluded). To facilitate club808 activities, this event need to be published to be seen by all members. If he/she join three of such events and post scores, he/she can get 1 stroke benefit in the calculation. This 1 stroke will be averaged in a scramble format tournament.

Tie breaker in tournament:
We have encounter many instances where two players or two teams score the same in one tournament. Some times this will cause confusion and argument. To simplify the scoring and avoid confusion, club808 will use following rules for tie breaking in all our tournaments unless otherwise noted:
1. The two(or more) players or teams must have the same score from the same tee
2. First count the number of eagles, the order of player/team will be based on the number of eagles. The more eagles one player/team score, the higher position the player/team will get.
3. If tied players/teams score the same number of eagles(or none), then count the number of birdies from all the tied players/teams. In case only some of the teams got resolved in this step, the rest will be resolved in the following steps.
4. If tied players/teams score the same number of birdies, then count the number of pars from all the tied players/teams.
5. In case all players/teams still ties after counting pars, then the order will be decided on the first scoring eagle, birdie, and par.

10 QUESTIONABLE SCENARIOS with Yes or NO
1. It counts as a stroke if your club gets tangled up in some overhanging tree branches as you make your downswing
2. There must be water present in a pond for it to be treated as a water hazard.
3. If your lay-up on a par 5 embeds in its own pitch mark in the fairway. You may remove the ball and take a free drop within one club-length of that spot. You just can’t have the ball come to rest any closer to the hole.
4. A flagstick that is lying on the ground can be lifted to prevent a player’s ball from striking it.
5. You hit your approach shot into a thick bush. You see a ball a few feet in, but can’t identify the make and model before your five minutes of allotted search time expires. You ball is considered lost.
6. You can lean on your club in a hazard, while you wait to play your next shot, without penalty
7. Your drive heads toward a row of out of bounds stakes. You hit a provisional ball(of the same brand and number) on an identical line. If you only find one ball in play, but can’t identify which was the first ball. You must assume the original is the one that’s out-of-bounds
8. If your ball is close to a cart path, it’s OK to take a wider stance than you normally would and claim relief from the path because it now interferes with your stance.
9. You’ve addressed the ball once you sole a club, directly behind or in front of it.
10. You ball lies on top of an aeration hole in the fairway. You’re allowed to move the ball without penalty because it’s ground under repair
1, true; 2, false; 3, false; 4, true; 5, true; 6, false; 7, true; 8, false; 9, true; 10, false;

SWING AND MISS, DOES THAT COUNT AS A STROKE? NOT ALWAYS

1. The USGA’s DEFINITION OF A STROKE is the forward movement of the club made with the intent of moving the ball. Again, the key word is intent. It doesn’t count as a stroke if, during the downswing, you choose not to hit the shot and purposely miss the ball – even if your club head passes over the top of it.
2. IF YOU TRY TO STOP YOUR SWING but accidentally hit the ball, it’s a stroke. Play it as it lies
3. IF YOU ACCIDENTALLY MOVE YOUR BALL while making a practice swing, it’s not a stroke but you must take one-stroke penalty and replace the ball
4. IF YOU PUSH OR SCRAPE YOUR BALL, INSTEAD OF STRIKING IT, that’s not considered a legal stroke and you must take a two-stroke penalty or concede the hole in a match. That means you can’t pool cue the ball into the hole or put your club head directly behind and ball and nudge it forward. You can hit the ball with any part of the club head, but the ball-club contact needs to be instantaneous
5. DRUING A STROKE, IF YOU MAKE CONTACT WITH THE BALL MORE THAN ONCE, counts the stroke and adds a penalty stroke. The same procedure and penalty apply if you hit the ball and it deflects off of something and hits your club again.
6. IF YOUR CLUB BREAKS DURING YOUR BACKSWING, and you still attempt to complete the swing, it doesn’t count as a stroke. But if your club breaks during the downswing, it counts as a stroke regardless of whether the ball was moved.
7. IF YOUR BALL MOVES DURING YOUR SWING, comes to rest in a new position before you make contact, and you still hit it, that counts as a stroke- no penalty- as long as you’re certain you didn’t cause the ball to move(before you hit it). However, if you are not entirely certain how and why your ball moved from its original lie, then you must take a one-stroke penalty and play from ball’s new position